Business

What is the difference between “team folder” and “shared folder” in Dropbox Business?

A special folder called “Team Folder” is indispensable for the team utilization of Dropbox Business. When an administrator creates a new team folder, a folder with the same name is created in the Dropbox folder of all members with access rights, and the contents (files, folders) saved here are automatically added to everyone’s team folder. It is a mechanism to be synchronized.

On the other hand, Dropbox Business also has a “shared folder” as a similar function. This is also a folder shared by multiple users, and the content stored here will be synced to the shared folders of all the users who share it. However, shared folders can be freely created by individual members other than the administrator.

To summarize the difference between the two, the owner of the team folder is the administrator, and the administrator creates a new folder and sets and uses accessible members. On the other hand, the owner of the shared folder is a user, and this owner invites other users to use it.

There are also differences in access authority management. Individual access rights cannot be set for folders (subfolders) in the shared folder, but in the case of team folders, access rights can be set individually for subfolders as well.

For example, you can create a team folder called “Contract”, create a subfolder called “Procurement” in that folder, and limit access to this procurement folder to only members of the procurement department. Similarly, you can create subfolders such as “sales” and “personnel” that allow access on a department-by-department basis, and subfolders that can only be accessed by external partners / business partners and related members such as lawyers. One of the strengths of Dropbox Business is the ability to flexibly set access permissions in this way.

Only the administrator can delete the team folder or rename the folder. Also, the created team folder cannot be moved. Therefore, there is no worry that the team folder shared by the entire company will be deleted due to a user’s mistaken operation, or the location will be moved and disappear, and it can be used with confidence.

Let’s see how the administrator creates a team folder.

First, go to dropbox.com, open “Contents” in the admin console and click “Create Team Folder”. Enter a name for the team folder and set the group (all members or departments, etc.) and access permissions (editable or read-only). That’s it.

If you open the setting screen from the gear icon, you can make more detailed settings. For example, if “Link restriction” is turned on, even if a user creates a shared link for a folder under this team folder, it will not be possible to access it unless he / she has access permission to the team folder. Strict access control and information leakage prevention are possible.

Open the management console and click “Create Team Folder” under “Contents”.Enter the team folder name

Specify the members to which access is granted in “Add Group”.Access authority can also be set to “viewable (read only)”

You can change detailed settings by opening the setting screen with the gear icon.

A team folder has been created.The building icon serves as a marker for the team folder

The usage of team folders on the user side is almost the same as shared folders. You can share the files you want to share within your team by uploading them here.

If you have edit permission for the team folder, you can create a new subfolder from the “Create” menu. At this time, it is possible not only to give access authority to the same member as the parent folder, but also to narrow down the access authority by specifying “specific user”. In this case, the subfolder is displayed with the “No entry” icon on the screen of the member who has not been given access permission, and even if it is clicked, “This folder cannot be opened” is displayed and access is not possible.

By the way, the team folder icon is designed with a building, and the shared folder icon is designed with two people. Folders that you don’t share (only you can access) are plain. Remember the difference between the icons so you don’t upload content that shouldn’t be shared to your team or shared folders.

Create a new folder in the team folder. Click “Folder” from the “Create” menu

Enter the folder name and select the users who can access it

If you select “Specific user”, the screen for specifying the user to share opens.Specify by user name, group name, or email address

Even users who have access to the team folder cannot access it unless they have access to the subfolders.

As mentioned earlier, general users cannot delete the team folder from the operation screen. The administrator needs to open “Content” in the management console and perform the delete operation on that screen. However, it is a mechanism that cannot be completely deleted suddenly.

Even if the team folder is no longer needed due to the end of the project, I don’t know if all the contents in the folder are needed. It’s possible that team members have files there that they don’t want to delete. Especially in the case of using it with a large number of people, such a judgment will be difficult.

Therefore, Dropbox Business does not delete it completely immediately, but puts it in a recoverable “archive” state and keeps it for a while, and if there is no complaint from the member, it can be deleted completely.

Open Content in the admin console, click Manage next to the team folder you want to archive, and select Archive. This puts the team folder in the archived state and moves to the “Archive” tab on the management screen.

Archiving a team folder removes access to all members and makes them inaccessible. Let’s continue the operation for a while in this state, and if there is no complaint from the member, delete it completely. Open the archived tab mentioned above and select “Permanently Delete” from the “…” menu of the team folder.

Archive the “team folder” that you no longer use from the management console.

You can also permanently delete the archived folder from the Archived tab

In this way, compared to shared folders that individual users can freely create / share, team folders have a stronger tendency to “manage as a company organization”, and the administrator can manage the whole in detail, a mechanism that can be governed. It has become. When introducing and operating Dropbox Business in a company, it is a good idea to first create a general folder structure as a team folder. I would like to introduce the specific know-how in the next article.

(Courtesy: Dropbox)




Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button